SAMRT e-news letter

SAMRT

2023 SAMRT Council

President: Scott Mildenberger Vice President: Michael McKechnie

Past President: Mary Rafferty

Elected Members:

Finte Adem

Kaylyn Grummett

Katelyn New

Shane Timm

Maeghan Richard

Incoming Members:

Jessica McLean

Luke Pelletier

Appointed Public

Representatives:

Alan Cannon

Eugene Paquin

Vacant

CAMRT Director:

Ada Bunko

Staff

Executive Director/Registrar:

Debbie Schatz

Manager, Communications & Competency Assurance:

Dianne Walker



this issue

President's Message P.1

- Annual Conference P.2
- Diagnostic Medical Sonographers P. 2
 - News & Updates P. 3

President's Message – Scott Mildenberger

Dear Colleagues,

I hope you will be able to take some time off and enjoy some summer holidays, at least an extended long weekend! Sometimes I wonder about living here during our long, cold winters and then I am always reminded in the summer. Beautiful prairie with green, blue and yellow blooming in the fields. Amazing forests up north. Lakes in every corner of the province. We truly live in a beautiful place, please get out and enjoy it if you can.

I'd like to thank the conference committee for putting on a great conference this spring. We had good attendance, and the speakers were interesting. It's hard to find speakers that can engage with all the different types of technologists, but the committee definitely succeeded. I'd also like to thank the CEO of the CAMRT, Irving Gold, for coming and participating and engaging with the members. Everyone really appreciated the effort.

As you may know by now the Government of Saskatchewan has adopted bill 120 which will change the SAMRT's name to The College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan. This is important because we are a college, and this will be reflected in our name finally. The really important piece is Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (DMS) will become regulated by our body as well. This will be very exciting but will require a lot of work to update bylaws, get input from DMS and begin to have DMS serve on council and committees. Stay tuned for more information, there may be some calls for volunteers to work on these important tasks.

As always, if you ever need to reach out to me, please do so.

president@SAMRT.org

Respectfully submitted by, Scott Mildenberger, RTNM CTIC PET/CT, SAMRT President

Congratulations to all the MRT students who were successful in passing the CAMRT National Certification Exam

ANNUAL CONFERENCE

The annual joint SADMS/SAMIM/SAMRT conference was held on Saturday, May 27th and was a huge success! Members enjoyed presentations throughout the morning from various speakers and the keynote speaker, Jody Carrington, brought humour and laughter while delivering the important message of *"Reignite - Building Each Other Back Up in the Age of Burnout"*.

A big thank you goes out to all the committee members who helped bring this conference to life and for all the hard work to ensure the conference went off without a hitch. Well done team!

Sponsors are one of the biggest contributors to the success of a conference. Sincere thanks to: Canon Medical Systems Canada Bayer Inc. Prairie Skies Medical Imaging Philips Canada Ultraray Inc. CAMRT Sonography Canada Bracco Imaging

Door Prize Winners: Luggage – Mike McKechnie Ice Cream Maker – Bryan Witt Cooler – Colais Fransoo Work Light with Speakers – Chantale Pham Cutlery – Jeremy Taylor Cineplex Gift Card – Jordan Sperling

Quick-Study Certificate from CAMRT (drawn during AGM): Jacqueline Turley



Keynote Speaker – Jody Carrington

AWARDS

Presented at Annual General Meeting – May 27, 2023

Academic Excellence Award

Magnetic Resonance Imaging – Jonathan Bellerose Nuclear Medicine – Sydney Thiessen Radiological Technology – Angus McLaren Radiation Therapy – Caitlyn Lazar

Volunteer Award

Nathan Rosenberg was recognized for his service on Council from 2014 – 2022. Brenda Lock was recognized for her service on the Radiation Health and Safety Committee.

Mentorship Award Courtney Leblanc

Life Member Award Melanie Hilkewich

Congratulations to all the award recipients!



IMPORTANT UPDATE DIAGNOSTIC MEDICAL SONOGRAPHERS

Bill 120 – NIRO legislative reform which included the application to regulate DMS received royal assent on April 6, 2023. It was proclaimed in an O/C effective May 15, 2023, bringing Bill 120 into force. The Act has not yet been proclaimed for SAMRT. The planned delay is designed to allow SAMRT to collaborate with sonographers to prepare regulatory bylaw amendments and other policies.

Bill 120 provides that our new name will become *The College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan.*

NEWS & UPDATES

ANNUAL REPORT

The 2022 Annual Report has been published. It is available for viewing on the SAMRT website. There are also a few hard copies available for pick-up at the SAMRT office, if interested.

ANNUAL AUDIT

The 2022 annual audit was conducted from April 6, 2023 to May 12, 2023. Compilation of results and follow-up was conducted where appropriate. The CEC committee met on June 21, 2023 and reviewed the results of the audit. All audited members should have received notification regarding their submission following this meeting. Target date for the 2023 annual audit will be early 2024.

JURISPRUDENCE PROGRAM

Introductory training will take place over the next months with a select group of testers. This will allow issues or problems to be flagged as well as time to develop the jurisprudence policy and supporting documentation that needs to occur in the implementation phase. Watch for more information coming in the fall of 2023 about the official launch of this program.





Caitlyn Lazar – Academic Excellence, Radiation Therapy



Courtney Leblanc - Mentorship Award



Melanie Hilkewich – Life Member Award

The Saskatchewan Association of Medical Radiation Technologists 203-3775 Pasqua Street, Regina, Saskatchewan S4S 6W8 Phone: (306) 525-9678 Fax: (306) 543-6161 Email: <u>info@samrt.org</u> <u>www.samrt.org</u>